Advanced 3D Animation: Self Critique

https://vimeo.com/215268985

The reel wheel shows two different projects that I worked in this semester: bunny lump and emotion animation.

The first project was to create a model combining the two elements provided in class and set the rig. It was last year when I studied modeling, so it was difficult to remember the steps to create the model. Moreover, creating the rig itself was not so difficult, but setting up the vase environment for the rig was complicated. I reviewed modeling and created the model just as I designed. The rigs also worked well. This time, I created a simple design model, so the rig was also simple. I would like to challenge myself to create more complicate models and try to put the rig on.

The second project was to animate my character challenging from one emotion to another. Compared to last semester, I am used to tracing motions. All previous assignments were just tracing the motion, but this time, I also needed to create the character’s history. Through the animation, I needed to express not only emotional change, but also express the character’s personality, too. Because I know why the character acted like that, it was easier to trace and express the emotion change. I understood that if I know why the character acted in this way, I could trace the action easier and make the character more lively.

When I trace complicated actions of reference, the trace sometimes will be rough. Therefore, I would like to be able to trace complicated parts more carefully. Through this class, I understand that my skills advanced by completing many projects. I’ll transfer to another school next semester, but I will continue to study MAYA and improve my skills.

About Yoko

I'm Yoko. I'm an international student from Japan. I love Japanese animation♡
This entry was posted in 3D Animation, Time-Based, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

