Comic Project: Final Version

まんが   まんが

IMG_6131

Story: Ushiwaka and his retailer Benkei

Kudo, Masahiro. “Ushiwaka and his retailer Benkei.” Old Stories of Japan. N. p., 1 Feb. 2005. Web. 3 Apr. 2016.

< http://www.geocities.co.jp/HeartLand-Gaien/7211/kudos10/yositune.html&gt;>

Culture: Japan

I chose Japanese culture for this project. The story, “Ushiwaka and his retailer Benkei,” is a Japanese oral tradition story. It is true that Ushiwaka and Benkei existed, but people don’t know if this story is true or not. This story depicts from Ushiwaka and Benkei’s first encounter to develop master and servant relationship. This story is mainly consisted with action scenes, but I dare to chose non-action part. This scene I chose is not action part, but I think it’s exciting because I can feel Benkei’s nervousness and the weirdness of Ushiwaka.

For Panel-to-panel transitions, I used Action-to-action progressions to make the characters’ actions easy to understand. All the panels have connection.  To make a good flow, I changed each panel’s size and shape. The balloons also support to make a flow. I tried to show Benkei looking around and turning back by using some curves to make movement. Then, to show his anger more powerfully, I used saturated lines. I made the final panel a little darker to show how Ushiwaka is spooky.

About Yoko

I'm Yoko. I'm an international student from Japan. I love Japanese animation♡
This entry was posted in Figure and Motion, Non-Timebased and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

