Intro to Visual Communications : Typology/Morphology

Huang Yan, Painted Currency, dime, $10 bill, 2009

Huang Yan painted on a dime and 10 dollars. He just painted on the face of people with colors. His artworks are really interesting because the moneys are American’s ones, but the paintings look like Chinese’s ones. while I was looking these artworks, one question popped into my head. Why did he paint just on the face of people, not on the background? It is just my guess. He maybe wanted to show how much China influenced on the United States, and vice versa. If he painted on the background, I would think that China was upstaged by the United State because the main character of the artwork was the United States. By painting on the face of people, he might tried to say China and the United States influenced on each other equally. His works made me considering them. Therefore, I think his works are very interesting.

Note : I took the picture of his artworks, but I lost the data…

About Yoko

I'm Yoko. I'm an international student from Japan. I love Japanese animation♡
This entry was posted in Visual Communications and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

